Around the Eastern US in 36 hours – DC to NYC to CHI on 3-ish trains

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

turtlypo

Train Attendant
AU Supporting Member
This took place last week but I'm finally getting around to sharing my trip. I'm still quite new to being into trains as a hobby and wanted to take a trip to get a few more Amtrak rides under my belt. I live in Indianapolis and planned a journey with a simple premise: fly to D.C. for breakfast, take the Acela up to New York for lunch, take the Lake Shore Limited–having dinner and breakfast on board–and finish with lunch in Chicago. I wanted to pack as many modes of transportation as I could and use this as an opportunity to practice photography and videography. Some of the footage might turn into a YouTube video down the line, but for now my internet friends at AU get the trip report.

Part 1: Breakfast in DC

Woke up at 3:30am to drive to Indianapolis International Airport and take the early morning flight to Washington Dulles. For how much Indy’s airport gets touted by themselves as ranked “best airport in the country,” I find it to be just okay. For a medium-sized airport it’s definitely easy to navigate through, but I think I just prefer an airport that has every possible route imaginable.

Flight UA3494 was on an Embraer 175. I’m used to flying between ORD and SBN on “Satan’s Chariot” (CRJ-200s), so this upgrade in regional jet type is much appreciated.

View attachment _1000148.jpg_1000157.jpg