suggestions for Bellingham WA to Vancouver BC... also.. where to find

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hi! Newbie here. Have to catch a plane out of Vancouver Int'l YVR, and I'm trying to decide if I should chance the Cascadia from Bellingham WA to Vancouver BC. I'm wondering about how late it's been running on average. Any idea where I look for this info? If I do take the train, any suggestions for getting from VAN train station to YVR airport (with luggage)? Also, the Starlight isn't expected to run in this area for awhile yet, correct?

I'm aware that there is a bus from Bellingham airport to YVR Vancouver Airport for $42 RT. Just wondering if it's realistic to consider Amtrak instead.

All suggestions welcome.

If you're in it for the experience of riding the train, then you can take the Cascades to Vancouver. From there, using public transportation, its a three-ride connection to the Airport (take the SkyTrain from Main Street Station to Burrard Station, then transfer to the 98 B Line bus to Airport Station, then transfer to the 424 Airport shuttle). There is also an "Airporter" service from downtown hotels to the airport. I'm less familiar with that service, but the price is a lot more than public transit.

However, if your objective is to get to the airport, I wouldn't bother with those many different connections, and would just go for the bus.