From Michigan to Union Station to Blue Line in Chicago

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
HI! I'm asking for some help.

I'll be headed to union station soon. It's my first Amtrak ride, and ride alone.

I'm going to the United Kingdom (that, which I HAVE done alone.)

I'm a bit nervous though. To put it simply, I'm 90lbs, and a pretty tiny girl at 5'2 I often find people helping me out unasked, which is lovely because often I'd need it, but I'm always worried of someone trying to -- well -- you know. Not so nice people.

I want to know, alone, is it safe?

What should I expect?

Do I buy the ticket online, show them it, sit down, and be quiet until I get to my stop?

Will it be direct or will we stop at other stations too? :blush: I'm a newbie to all of this, haha!

I'm excited but a bit scared.

After I get to Union Station I'm going to the Blue Line in Chicago to get to O'hare (I know this isnt amtrak related so feel free to ignore, I dont want to burden anyone :blink: )

Has anyone done that alone? Is it a long walk or am I being paranoid? I've never been to Chicago downtown alone before. I wont get lost as I have a map and it's only a few blocks, but I guess I always find it eerie if its just me and one other person haha :p so awkward! When I walk down the steps of the blue railing, any idea what to do then? Has anyone done this? Gosh! Sorry about all the questions! I have no idea what to expect! :ph34r:

I've googled as much as I can I think.

I'm so nervous! Any advice on both topics would be appreciated. :wub: I'm an adventurous person, just never been on the subway, nor a train before!

Thanks for your advice!